• Golden retriever mix
  • Male, 30 kg (66 lbs)
  • Born October 2019
  • Located in Toronto

Traits: Affectionate

Health: Spayed/Neutered, Vaccinated, Dewormed, Heartworm-Tested

John is a Large Male Golden retriever mix Korean rescue dog

Join Our Pack

Get monthly updates about dogs like John and follow their journey from suffering to a forever-loving home.

John was rescued from euthanasia in a high kill shelter in Korea. He then lived in a private shelter in Hwasung, Korea where he lived with other dogs, until flying to Canada to find his forever home.

Don’t tell the rest, but John was the shelter’s favorite! But who could blame him? Like a typical Golden, he is very friendly and affectionate towards people and aims to please. All he asks for in life is going for walks and cuddling up to people. He wins the hearts of everyone he meets with his charming personality.

John is house trained and loves to go on his walks, and be outside in general. He walks well on leash, but will occasionally pull when something exciting is going on. He also does well being bathed and doesn’t mind the water (he’s a golden, afterall).

While he loves going on walks, John is calm and mellow in the house. He likes to stay where his humans are and will follow them around the home. However, John does not understand stairs, and despite wanting to be where his humans are, he has not figured out the weird structure that takes his humans to another level. On the other hand, he has experience going in and out of elevators which he does with no issue. For that reason, John would not do well in a setting where there are stairs that would separate him from his humans. Knowing his humans are home but not being able to get to them makes John sad and frustrated.

Although John has yet to meet a human he doesn’t love, he is more selective with other dogs. He does fine with gentle and friendly dogs that he has been introduced to and acquainted with, but doesn’t like dogs with assertive or high energy personalities.

This beautiful boy’s ideal home is with a family with the time to spend with him and can include him in their activities. As he loves to be outside, he’d love a family who enjoys the outdoors as much as he does. He would love a secure yard to frolic around, but would also do fine a condo provided he was given the proper amount of exercise. If in a house, it should have many stairs or multiple floors, as he does not understand stairs. The main living area should be accessible to him so that he can spend time with his humans. He would require someone with experience with large dogs (or at least the ability to handle them) and who lives in a quiet neighborhood. He will be most happy as the only dog in the house where he can get all the attention his heart desires, as well as a lot of outdoor playtime.

Vaccination Details

DHPPL, Canine Influenza, Kennel Cough, Rabies, Corona, Heartworm test, Giardia test, Flea & tick & heartworm prevention are all done.